Stonewall Saloon Museum
The Stonewall Saloon was the first permanent structure built in Saint Jo in 1873 to accommodate thirsty trail drovers moving cattle along the Chisholm Trail. It maintained a boarding house upstairs. It now serves as a museum depicting the history of Saint Jo and the Chisholm Trail.
Physical Address is 100 Main St, Saint Jo, Tx. Mailing address is PO Box 518, Saint Jo, TX 76265.
The Fort Worth Stock Yards, officially incorporated in 1893, swiftly became the epicenter of the largest livestock market in Texas, grew to be the biggest market south of Kansas City, and finally ranked among the top five nationwide for five decades. Serving as supply depot for the Chisholm Trail, the major route out of Texas for livestock, started Fort Worth on its path to Cowtown capital. But it was the arrival of the railroad and the ambition of its business leaders that drove the city’s success. Recognizing the potential, local businessmen began expanding the stockyard facilities beyond its feedlots. Diversification in Fort Worth’s livestock industry included railroad cattle terminals, meatpacking plants, grain elevators for feed, livestock-pharmaceutical manufacturers, a horse, mule, and hog market, and its expansion into sheep soon turned it into the largest sheep market in the nation. A permanent change in the nature of the livestock industry and its decentralization wouldn’t begin until the middle of the 20th century, allowing the Fort Worth Stockyards to hold on until 1992, when the market finally closed after its final livestock auction. However, rather than allowing the enterprise to go the way of other abandoned stockyards in the state, Fort Worth business leaders once again saw opportunity for growth and today a Stockyards National Historic District, with its restored mercantile buildings and network of corrals and feedlots, preserves the city’s grand past. The District covers fifteen square blocks where entertainment, restaurants, shops, a daily cattle drive, and rodeos all drive a visitor experience worthy of Texas’ Cowtown Capital.
– See more at: http://texaslakestrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/stockyards-national-historic-district#sthash.hCLzRHnC.dpuf
A whole heap (herd?) of cowboy and western performers including singers, tricksters, gun fighters, saloon girls and more. They can come to your event, or your group can come to their Western Town east of Marlow, OK. Contact Orvel Robinson for details.
Travel: State of Oklahoma
Fees: Dependent on number of performers, travel and duration of performance
Established in 1982, the Sid Richardson Museum features paintings by Frederic Remington and Charles M.Russell of the 19th century American West during westward expansion. The legendary Texas oilman and philanthropist, Sid W. Richardson, amassed one of the most significant private collections of Remington’s and Russell’s in the United States. In addition to works by Remington and Russell, his collection includes paintings by other “old masters” of Western art: Oscar E. Berninghaus – a founding member of the Taos Society of Artists, Charles F. Browne, Edwin W. Deming, William Gilbert Gaul, Herbert M. Herget, Frank Tenney Johnson, William R. Leigh, Peter Moran and Charles Schreyvogel. Admission is free to the museum, which offers free tours and public education programs for children/families, teens and adults. The Museum Store has unique Western-themed items. Open daily except for major holidays.
Welcome to the Chisholm Trail Outdoor Museum. The tepees and life size cattle drive silhouettes that greet you as you enter the museum along with the “WELCOME TO CLEBURNE * ON THE CHISHOLM TRAIL” eighty foot stone wall are fast becoming one of the most recognized and photographed landmarks in this part of Texas. We offer free docent-led tours with advance notice on Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
The Williamson Museum is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation established in 1997 to collect, preserve and exhibit items relating to the rich culture and heritage of Williamson County. We offer free and exciting hands-on educational programs to the public through innovative exhibits, tours and outreach including our annual Chisholm Trail Days Event at San Gabriel Park and Pioneer Day at Old Settlers Park.
Through our extensive educational outreach programs, our goal is to preserve the unique stories of the county for both present and future generations. In addition, the Museum provides insight and accurate historical information based on first-hand sources in a variety of areas. This focus allows the Museum to effectively educate, entertain and enlighten our visitors.
Recognizing that our past profoundly influences our future the Bell County Museum collects, preserves and interprets the historic and prehistoric cultural heritage of the Bell County region, for all citizens, and provides quality traveling exhibitions for their enjoyment and education.
Established in 1991, the Bell County Museum serves the community as a vital resource for the collection, interpretation and preservation of the historical heritage of the Bell County area.
Experience the world’s only twice daily cattle drive as Fort Worth’s herd of Texas Longhorn steers are driven down the bricks of historic Exchange Avenue in the Historic Fort Worth Stockyards. The Herd is driven by authentic cowboys and cowgirls in period clothing from the era of 1865.
– See more at: http://texaslakestrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/fort-worth-herd-cattle-drive#sthash.xaPjBhZr.dpuf
The Cattle Raisers Museum chronicles Texas ranch life through film, photos, interactive exhibits and displays of ranching memorabilia. Visitors can trace the origins and development of ranching as both an industry and cultural phenomenon in the 1850s and embark on a journey through the cattle industry and into the future of the business. The interactive gallery tells the story of the challenges and accomplishments of Texas and Southwestern cattle raisers over the past 150 years.
– See more at: http://texaslakestrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/cattle-raisers-museum#sthash.9wZJqaWF.dpuf
Discover the history of the wild frontier, the days of Tom Smith and Wild Bill Hickok, and the wild and woolly days of the cattle drives to Abilene at the end of the Chisholm Trail. Also explore the stories of the early pioneers as they settled the great plains and turned the great American desert into their home. Extensive archival documents/records. Historic displays, antique carousel, blacksmith shop, cowboy history, family research, and telephony museum.
Our C.W. Parker Carousel was built in 1901, complete with hand-carved horses, is our pride and joy at the Dickinson County Heritage Center.
C.W. Parker’s fascination with carousels first began when he came across one while on a walk with his young daughter. After purchasing multiple rides for her, Parker decided the amusement business would be a good venture for him. Parker bought his first carousel soon after, and later decided to try to improve the design by building his own. Thus the C.W. Parker Amusement Company began.
Our 1901 carousel was manufactured here in Abilene, Kansas and originated as a traveling carnival ride. It was sold to Tom Knight, a drive-in movie theater owner in Riverton, Wyoming. When Knight’s health declined and forced him to close, the Dickinson County Historical Society was contacted to purchase and bring the carousel back home to Abilene. After ten years and many volunteer hours, the carousel became fully restored and was named a National Historic Landmark. It is one of only twelve National Historic Carousels in the United States.
Every year thousands of people enjoy a ride on the carousel which comes with a replica ticket souvenir.
In 1912, the Depot became the hub of the community. Brick pavers surround the north side, between the building and the railroad. The city now owns the building and a public library is open during the week. Inside there is a room dedicated to its railroad history, serving as a museum, and numerous historical photographs of the region are displayed throughout the library. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. It also serves as a public town hall meeting place for legislators and as events center for everything from art shows to wedding receptions.
Welcome to Oklahoma’s Chisholm Trail Centennial Corridor sign was established in 2007 for the state Centennial celebration. The highlight was a month long cattle drive, from the Red River north into Kansas.
Store proprietor Allen Wooten has been collecting instruments and country music memorabilia for over 10 years. Much of his instrument collection is for sale. Every Thursday evening, he hosts an acoustic session in his Cowboy Opry venue, along with something to eat if you’re hungry. It’s kind of like the Bluebird Café of Southern Oklahoma. There’s plenty of stories, music and things to see and share at this little store which sits at the intersection of US Highway 81 and Oak Main in Comanche. He also offers music lessons for those who want to learn a lil’ pickin’.
Welcome to Eischen’s Antique Bar…
the oldest bar in the state of Oklahoma! Eischen’s Saloon was established in 1896 by Peter Eischen and was open until Statehood and Prohibition. Eischen’s Bar opened shortly after the end of Prohibition by Nick & Jack Eischen, son and grandson of Peter Eischen.
The massive back bar, a vital part of the history of Eischen’s was hand carved in Spain in the early 1800s. During the Gold Rush it was shipped to California. It was lost in time until it was brought to Okarche in 1950 for the enjoyment of all who stopped by Eischen’s. On January 21, 1993, fire destroyed Eischen’s and one of the things remaining is a small part of the antique back bar.
Hours Mon – Sat 10am – 10pm
Closed Sunday, Major Holidays
No credit cards – cash or personal check only / ATM onsite
No tea or coffee
Reservations for large groups Mon – Thurs only.
109 S. 2nd Street, Okarche, OK 73762